My first week in South Africa - Reisverslag uit Johannesburg, Zuid-Afrika van Juliane Klemp - WaarBenJij.nu My first week in South Africa - Reisverslag uit Johannesburg, Zuid-Afrika van Juliane Klemp - WaarBenJij.nu

My first week in South Africa

Door: Juliane

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Juliane

28 Oktober 2009 | Zuid-Afrika, Johannesburg

Thanks for all your mail and messages! It was really nice to get them, feeling supported by you!

Now I'm a bit more than one week here in Jo'burg. Time for an update. I don't know where to start.

Maybe at the beginning ;-) I arrived in Jo'burg and Sam picked me up. He is the project manager here in RSA, but also my room mate. Which is good as I'm not lonely here. So the first days I just could follow him as he knows all ways.

We are living in the north of Johannesburg, in a rich area. Our house is situated in an appartement complex, with a swimming pool, bar and fitness room in the middle. Everything is really secured here with high fences, control stations and guards. Not really a happy surrounding ;-( But I guess I better get use to that. Anyway, our house is ok. Own room and bathroom for each of us. Furter a big balcony, facing the swimming pool. As it is not that warm at the moment (22 degrees, but stil spring), nobody is using the pool yet.

During my first working days we tried to get me sattled as good as possible. But until now, internet, mail and all technichal support is not funny and cost a lot of energy. But away from this, it's fun to be with other people and discover an other working surrounding. Bit by bit I come in more in to my tasks for the next months. And which each bit I start to realise how big this event is! And feel happy that I will be a part of it.

Today we had a meeting with the Local organising comitee. They are based beside the new stadium in Jo'burg. The feeling to stand beside this huge stadium, which I just know from TV, is great!

Today I was driving our car for the first time. Uhhh, exciting. Trough the city and on the left side! Next week I wil get my own car, so I better be prepared.

Beside work there is not so much to do at the moment. I'm looking for some evening activities but think that soon I will be busy with working in the evenings anyway. But there are enough plans for weekends. To start that we will go to Mozambique for getting the dive licence. Or to the Victoria Falls up in the North. Next week we will have some site visits that means I will come around in the country! Cool. Can't wait.

That some first impressions. There is much more and each day I experience new things. I will try to keep you updated as much as possible.

  • 28 Oktober 2009 - 22:37

    Ina:

    Hai Juliane

    Great to here that you feel good in South Africa and that you have a nice home and room mate. Enjoy your stay and make it the time off your life.

    Liefs Ina

  • 29 Oktober 2009 - 07:05

    Charlotte:

    Hoi Juliane,

    Baie veel plezier! Leer je er weer een nieuwe taal bij. Leuk hoor. Geniet er van.

    Groetjes, Marc-Hein en Charlotte

  • 29 Oktober 2009 - 07:12

    Mike:

    Hey Juul,

    Ik ben weer super trots op jou als ik lees hoe je elke nieuwe uitdaging met beide handen aanpakt. Nadat ik heb gezien hoe je de opdracht in Zweden hebt uitgevoerd, gaat dit jou ook weer lukken. Pas goed op jezelf en ik ben blij dat wij elkaar nog hebben gezien voor jouw vertrek.

    We houden contact,

    Dikke knuffel van Mike, die van die duurzame doos.

  • 29 Oktober 2009 - 08:13

    Catharina:

    Hi Juliane

    Super om zo weer deelgenoot te kunnen zijn van je nieuwe avontuur! Heel veel succes en plezier daar.

    groetjes Catharina

  • 29 Oktober 2009 - 12:01

    T++:

    Diving in Mozambique ... on my list as well. But always too expensive and difficult (Visa, rental car etc.) find out a good deal and take me there the other days :) Mrs. Eventmanager

  • 29 Oktober 2009 - 19:24

    Ilse:

    Keep on the good work ;)

  • 29 Oktober 2009 - 21:09

    Connie:

    Hey Superwoman ;-)
    Enjoy and enjoy and ohw ja keep up the good work ;-)

  • 30 Oktober 2009 - 10:30

    Semere:

    Liebe Juliane.

    Danke für deine E-mail.Und wir wünschen dir weiterhin sehr viel Spaß in Süd Afrika.

    Schöne grüße von uns allen:Semere, Yordanos,

    Mary,Helen,Meron.



  • 31 Oktober 2009 - 13:09

    Bosse:

    Kul att det går bättre för dig.
    Så du ska ta dykar certifikat -kan vi dyka ihop.... haha
    Hoppas matchen idag varit bra och att det blev en bra fest och underhållning på läktarn - ska visst vara en enormt liv eller oljud har jag hört.

    Var rädd om dig så hörs vi.

    Kram

  • 01 November 2009 - 09:30

    Lucia:

    Hoi Juul,

    Het beloofd weer een mooi "avontuur" te worden....
    Kijk goed uit en geniet van alle mooie dingen om je heen.
    Sterkte met het werk en zoals de meeste al geschreven hebben, het gaat jou vast en zeker lukken om er een mooi feestje van te maken.
    Liefs Lucia

  • 01 November 2009 - 18:04

    Bjørnar:

    Hei Juliane!

    Enjoy reading your reports! I'm sure you're getting lots of new experiences and impressions down there. Must be nice to get to see the country as well. Sounds great!

    Have fun!!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Zuid-Afrika, Johannesburg

Juliane

You are the one who can stretch your own horizon!

Actief sinds 21 Dec. 2006
Verslag gelezen: 189
Totaal aantal bezoekers 98475

Voorgaande reizen:

10 Juli 1980 - 10 Juli 2020

Mijn levenslange reis

Landen bezocht: